Just Because You Can….Doesn’t Mean You Should

IMG_20140128_170513

Yes. This is an outfit I actually wore on a run last week. Cue the title: Just because you can…doesn’t mean you should. With all the horrible weather, I have been getting a little tired of the treadmill. I really wanted to run outside…AND…I really did not want to miss my running club’s speed workout. This led to a poor decision. I probably would have been fine with just a regular ole’ easy run, but this was a speed workout. I like to think that I am in pretty good shape, and I do not have asthma, that I know of…

Well…let’s just say the speed workout was not happening for me. Some of the ladies knew to bag it from the start, but a lot of the women were able to really go at it still, despite the cold. I was not one of them. Halfway through the tempo run, the club leader came over and asked if I was ok. I was really falling behind the other ladies. I wasn’t in serious trouble or anything, I know enough not to run myself into the ground. I had, however, really slowed down my pace because I was having a lot of trouble breathing while running. We decided I should switch to an easy run for the rest of the workout. After that, I was fine. I just can’t handle speed work in those temperatures. Some people can, but I can’t. I think I am ok with that. It just really caught me off guard is all.

1390860199248

On a happier note, I discovered powdered peanut butter. I have been losing control with peanut butter lately. I googled some healthy alternatives. I found Tru-Nut. It is a powdered form of peanut butter and has 85% less fat than regular peanut butter. Basically, a lot of the fatty oils are removed. It does not have anything extra added. They just press the peanuts. You add water to make it into peanut butter. I liked adding a little salt, too. It is not identical, but I think it is pretty good. I am going to stick with it. (It is cheaper than PB2, by the way.) It was REALLY good in oatmeal with a banana. They say it is great in protein shakes. I just haven’t made one yet.

Do you have trouble running in the cold? Are you addicted to peanut butter?

signature

11 thoughts on “Just Because You Can….Doesn’t Mean You Should

  1. Doing tempo workouts in the cold is vicious. I did an hour at MP a couple weeks ago when it was 10 degrees. I’ve done this before, just not in this cold. Ooph. Took me a while to recover. Little dizzy afterwards. Could have just been low glucose because of the extra energy I was expending to keep warm, or the extra pounds of layers I had on but man… Done with winter.

  2. Oh man, I’ve never really ran in severe cold but I can imagine how hard it would be. Good thing you slowed it down to avoid injury or something! They have dried peanut butter!?! LESS FAT! OH MAN! I need to find it ASAP haha

  3. Oh I have a peanut butter addiction! My boyfriend has to hide it from me or I’ll just eat it all straight from the jar :)

  4. Haha I have that Ugly Sweater Run hat too! And I hear you on the cold weather running, it’s painful to run fast! Hopefully it will warm up a bit soon. I think Friday is supposed to be 40 degrees, that should feel super warm!

  5. I tried doing some speed work last week and it didn’t go quite as planned either. Too much snow on the ground in certain areas! It’s WAY too hard to speed up when you’re in 3 inches of loose snow.

    Way to go out and try to get your speed work in despite the cold. It was probably a good idea you changed it up to an easy run, but at least you went out and gave it some effort. :)

Leave a Reply

