Trying New Things!

As I have been training for my first half marathon, I have been trying a lot of new things. This has been my transition into long distance running, and I am really trying to enjoy the experience. So far, it has been wonderful. I love experimenting with new products and ideas! The support of my running club has also been helpful!

2013-10-05_13-22-47Yesterday I ran 11 miles for the first time ever! It was a challenging run. We weren’t really prepared for 80+ degree weather and intense humidity in October. Our bodies were not used to that! My running partner really struggled with the heat. She ended up walking the last three miles. I was able to run the 11 miles and was just a little more tired/sweatier than normal. I always hate leaving my partner behind. What do you do when that situation happens to you? I don’t want to leave her behind, but I also want to get the most out of my run.

pink shoelaces

I also joined the Sweat Pink community by Fit Approach. I love talking to and being inspired by other health-minded women. It is a fantastic community of ladies, and I love the pink shoelaces! A really nice hand written note came with the shoelaces as well.

flipbelt

I tried out a new running belt this week that I had seen posted on some blogs. I am officially hooked! It is called the Flip Belt. The name is very fitting because you load up your items in these little pockets. (see opening in picture above) Then, you flip the belt over for extra security. I barely noticed I had this belt on. It is fantastic! I would recommend it to anyone!

fuelI know there are all kinds of articles on when to fuel, at what distance to fuel, etc. A lot of people probably wouldn’t think I need to fuel on an 11 mile run, but guess what…I was hungry! Everyone is different, and I am all about responding to what my body tells me. If I am hungry, I am going to eat! I didn’t realize the Prime energy gels by Gatorade were supposed to be eaten before the run (learning here!), so I ate them during my run. They helped satisfy my hunger and did not upset my stomach. They basically taste like candy! I haven’t tried the Clif shot, but I am planning on giving it a go soon. I am also contemplating just bringing raisins. I love raisins, and I saw somewhere on the internet that they get the job done too. What do you all like to eat during a run?

Have you tried anything new lately?Ā 

signatureFFL

16 thoughts on “Trying New Things!

  1. Hi Amy!
    I love my Flip Belt! I have three different colors šŸ™‚ I find that I get hungry around mile 14, It’s amazing what a little fuel can do!
    Thanks
    Sami
    go-go-mountaingirl.com

  2. Congrats on your 11 miles. I think one of the coolest things about training for a new distance is to keep hitting distance records in training. It’s such a great feeling. Also good for your for fueling during your run. I ran a couple half marathons before I ever even tried fueling during a run. When I finally did it made a huge difference. It’s great to figure it all out in training so then you know exactly what works when its race day.

  3. Great work on the 11 miles šŸ™‚ That’s fab esp in that heat it would kill me!
    I love that belt – bet there’s no chance they sell them in the uk but I will have to have a browse I love the idea very smart.
    x

  4. I’ve heard a lot about the flipbelt! I’m going to have to try one out! šŸ™‚ Congrats on running your first EVER 11 miles!!! woot woot!! That’s a great accomplishment!! šŸ™‚ You rock!! When is your first half mary??
    (found you through the friday link up)

  5. Well done on your training run. Good luck with your half when it comes, you’ll smash it.
    All of my training runs I run on my own (with music or an audiobook/podcast). the only time I run with others is run club and that has finished for the season/year.
    Heat can really zap you. I remember one particular run, It was just all kinds of awful, it was hot but really humid. I had my gel, all my water and was spent after 14km | 8.75mi. The next week, I did the same course/distance, and did it with ease, no gel, and only 1/4 of my water. Weather was till warm, just not humid.
    I don’t have the flip belt, I have a spibelt and until that dies, I wont be replacing it.

Leave a Reply

