Lunatik Athletiks Compression Socks Review and Giveaway!

Miss Adventures in Running - Lunatik AthletiksA couple of weeks ago, I was fortunate enough to be contacted by Lunatik Athletiks to review a pair of their compression socks. I was thrilled! Before agreeing to the review, I wanted to get to know the company a little. I was very pleased to learn that their mission is ” to design high quality, funky apparel that would allow individuals to express themselves in the most carefree, supported environment…running.”

I really love that mission statement. Sometimes we get so bogged down by improving our PR and training, that we take the fun out of running. Running should be something you enjoy, that also allows you to express yourself. The compression socks from Lunatik Athletiks definitely allow you to express yourself! I chose the Nirvana pattern, mostly because it matches a lot of my running outfits. A girl’s gotta look good, too!

Not only was I impressed by the personal, handwritten note that I received from the company, but I honestly, really loved the compression socks. Many of you know that I am training for my first half marathon EVER. That means I am running much more than I ever have, which also means a lot of sore legs!

For the past two weeks, I have been wearing these compression socks after my long runs. I really did notice a significant drop in leg soreness. I even put the socks on after my first 10 miler race. I wore them discreetly under my jeans as I went about my day! They worked like a charm!

If you are interested in learning more about compression socks and how they help runners recover faster from workouts, this is a great article from Runner’s World.

Now to the fun part! Lunatik Athletiks is being kind enough to give away a pair of compression socks to one lucky reader! (The winner will be announced 10/25) The reader even gets to choose the style they prefer! Just enter below! If that isn’t enough, everyone can receive a discount with the code “run20.” I highly recommend you at least check the company and their products out. They  have some really cute running skirts available too! Just click the link below!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Do you use compression socks? Do you use them for recovery or during your run, maybe both?

signature

FFL

Lunatik Athletiks paid for and provided me with the compression socks for this review, but this review is my honest opinion of the product.

18 thoughts on “Lunatik Athletiks Compression Socks Review and Giveaway!

  1. I have thought about getting some compression socks, I have the full leg tights at the moment but they can make me a bit hot. I also wanted to say that I really enjoy your posts- you always seem enthusiastic and positive about everything! We need more of this in the world. (Plus I like recipes 🙂 ) I have nominated you for a Liebster Award- you can see the details on my post http://trailsandultras.wordpress.com/2013/10/17/my-liebster-award-and-11-nominations/. Its a way to recognize other bloggers when you like what they write! 🙂

  2. I have compression socks. I bought my first PROcompression socks about two weeks before my trail half at the end of Sept. I need more. I use them on long runs and for about 2 days post long run. haha.

  3. I had never heard of this brand of compression socks, I like how different they are from the standard ones! I like the Nirvana that you tried, but if I wanted something a little crazier I would go with the polka dot ones! I hope your 1/2 marathon training is going great!

  4. I just recently discovered recovery compression socks. I had seen them but never tried them. I was amazed that they did provide relief and will no longer go for a long run without having them ready for when I get home. I love the colors of yours and am still stocking up so I will go check them out.

  5. How cute! I love their mission statement and you’re right, some times we take the fun out of running. My legs are really short so the compression socks hit me at my knees and begin to squeeze after a while so I don’t wear them often, but I like the idea of wearing them under my jeans. I might try it.

  6. I know these have become popular and have helped people But I worry that over the long run people will start having complications similar to what happens with varicose veins. All that pressure on such a dense and inflexible muscle group.

    I think best bet would be long socks to keep the calves warm and proper/regular/serious use of stretching and massage will fix the problems the socks seem to help today.

    • Interesting point. I definitely think they should be used in moderation and not become something people over-depend on. Nothing can replace quality stretching, but I do believe when combined with stretching, the socks can be helpful.

  7. Great and fun review! I do believe that compression socks can be of value and in the past wore them while running.
    My problem is that as I have incorporated gym training more and get stronger and more muscular… they just don’t seem to make calf sleeves in the size of my calf for running. They feel good to put on after a run (and I really should do that and would really love to win a pair of these for that exact purpose) and I believe in the blood moving idea of them.. it does make sense. Blood pooling (especially after an ultra) can be a real pain… in the leg : )
    But now if I were to wear them while running, they are just too tight (because of my calf size) and the compression actually gave me a bit of numbness because of the swelling that naturally occurs from running.. but afterwards it would feel great!
    Plus I have to admit that women do look super cute in them.. I’m just saying! : )

    Thanks for the giveaway and the entry!

    Chris
    http://www.mavrocatstrength.com

Leave a Reply

