Only One More Week!

year of running

I cannot believe that the Philadelphia Half Marathon is next weekend! I am really excited, but I am also nervous, since this is my first half marathon. I do feel prepared, though. My biggest concern is getting to the actual race with all the tons of other people!

Today, I took a moment to reflect on how far I have come. The graph  above is for my running this past year. Since I started training for the half marathon in August, I have really stepped up my running. You can see that I basically doubled how much I was running each month! I am so pleased with the progress I have made. It has been a journey of self transformation, and I have loved almost every minute of it. I have learned so much about myself and what I can achieve when I set my mind to it.

Throwaway clothesThank goodness for my running club! There are so many details to getting ready for a big race that I didn’t know about! This past week, I went to Goodwill and picked out a nice jacket to use as my “throw-away” clothing. I figured I could spare $2, especially since it would go to charity afterwards! I really do not like being cold, so I think this will work out nicely!

After a lot of debating about how to get to the race, I have decided to have my boyfriend drop me off. I thought about using the public transit, but it requires making connections and walking. I am not familiar enough with the system to want to do that much on race day; too much room for error. Most of the people in my running group said it is easier and less stressful to have someone else drop you off. Let them worry about parking! Sounds good to me.

I have picked out my race day outfit and what I am going to eat for breakfast. I think I am as prepared as I can be. Hopefully the weather cooperates! Now, I think the only thing left is to just enjoy the experience!

Do you have any race day tips?

signature

 

 

 

 

 

 

FFL

10 thoughts on “Only One More Week!

  1. Good luck! I may try to come out to cheer people on so hopefully I’ll see you there! I’m pretty jealous you’re running it, I hope I can do it next year! Ps what running club do you belong to? I’m looking to join one but I live out in the suburbs (Clifton Heights in DelCo) so I’m not sure which ones are close to me and are open to slower runners.

    • That would be great! I hope you can do it next year too! I am actually in South Jersey, I run with a club in Moorestown, NJ. Have you heard of “Run Like a Philly Girl?” They seem like a nice group with a wide range of levels. It was just too far for me to drive!

  2. My advice would be try to do everything the same as what you did in training! Try to eat only very familiar foods and wear clothes that you have worn before and know work out well. When I did the Philly full I had a friend drop me off and it made things easy. Just make sure you give yourself enough time because there was some traffic that morning. Also, the race splits up the half and full runners (I think that was around mile 9 but I can’t really remember) so make sure you look out for signs so you don’t end up missing the turn for the half! Make sure to enjoy yourself, I can’t wait to hear about how it went! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

