D.C. Here I Come!

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving! I read somewhere online that Thanksgiving is the most popular race day of the year. People feel the need burn some calories to make room for all the delicious holiday food! Well, I was just like many of you. I ran a local turkey trot on Thanksgiving morning. It was pretty cold, but a lot of fun! The turkey trot was five miles, and a few years back, it was actually my first race. Way back then I did not prepare nearly enough. I could barely move the next day. After that, I vowed to train more, and the next thing you know, I am running a half marathon!

Miss Adventures in Running

It was a great race. This is the first year I have really seriously trained. It definitely made a difference. I ran a whole 7 minutes faster than last year! I was really excited. After a great race, I headed home and took the hottest shower possible. Then I enjoyed a very nice day with my family. I live in a different state, so it was really great spending time with family and friends. I am already itching to get back home for the holidays!

Now for the really exciting news. This email came yesterday while I was making dinner. I was literally jumping up and down and screaming like a school girl. Then, I immediately texted everyone I knew.

Miss Adventures in Running

It’s official. My entry was picked in the lottery for the Nike Women’s Half Marathon in D.C.! My sister lives in D.C., and we are going to run the race together. It is going to be amazing. The medal at the finish line is Tiffany’s jewelry. It is going to be fantastic. You have to indulge yourself every once in a while!

This weekend I am going to be running the Ugly Sweater Run in Philadelphia. Stay tuned for amazing photos. Happy running!

signatureFFL

10 thoughts on “D.C. Here I Come!

  1. Great job in the race! That’s awesome that you got into the Nike Women’s half! I just entered the lottery for the Cherry Blossom 10-miler in DC..hopefully I get in, I’ve always wanted to run it.

  2. Congrats on your new time! I’ve always wanted to try a Turkey Trot, but we always spend Thanksgiving with our family in a very small town. I suppose we could have our own Turkey Trot. πŸ™‚ Congrats on getting into the Nike Women’s Half! That will be so awesome! It’s on my bucket list. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

