Celebrating the Holidays in NYC!

IMAG1258

Now that I live in New Jersey, I wanted to take full advantage of living near New York City at Christmas time. My mother and sister came to visit, and we took the Bolt bus to NYC. The weather was crazy! The snow was really coming down, but it was still a great trip.

IMAG1257

We went and checked out all of the holiday window displays. That was a lot of fun. It was my mom’s first choice of activity. She said she read somewhere that people work on designing and building these displays for an entire year! For as ornate as some of them were, I could definitely believe it.

IMAG1256

I did not wear the proper shoes for the weather at all! While we were checking out the displays, I had to run into H&M to buy some cheap boots. Little ballet flats just do not cut in in a snow storm!

IMAG1264

After checking out the window displays, we went to Dylan’s Candy Bar. This is somewhere I have wanted to go since I was a little girl. It was everything I dreamed of and so much more!

IMAG1263

They had every candy you could imagine. Our favorite section of the store was the nostalgic candies that are no longer being made. My sister and I stocked up on cigarette gum. You know the little gum packs that look like cigarettes and are not PC to sell to children anymore? They are still fun to play with even as an adult. I also stocked up on some Now and Laters. After eating a couple, I remembered why they stopped making them. I never have the patience to get to the “later” part and end up cracking my teeth! Then, I headed to the international section and picked up some Kinder chocolate because my boyfriend is obsessed.

IMAG1267

I am a sucker for gummy candies. They are my greatest weakness in life. I went around and scooped some of the gummy varieties into one of those bags that you pay for by weight. The gummy root beer bottles were one of my favorites.

IMAG1265

We headed to lunch and then made our way to the Lincoln Center. We saw the NYC ballet perform The Nutcracker. The performance was amazing. Tilor Peck was my favorite dancer by far. I have heard of her, but never seen her before. You can’t take your eyes off of her.

IMAG1266

When we came out of the show, the snow had begun to start accumulating. The roads were a mess and getting a taxi was very difficult. By some sweet miracle we caught a taxi back to the hotel. After a little resting, we went down to the lobby to catch a taxi. The hotel staff said there was no chance in getting a taxi and handed us umbrellas. We made the snowy trek to Rockefeller Center. We had dinner at a nice restaurant called Ruby’s and then headed to Magnolia Bakery.

IMAG1270

We had the special red velvet Rockette cupcakes. The buttercream frosting was out of this world. I have never tasted anything like it in my life, and probably never will again.

IMAG1273

We tried our best to look at the tree in Rockefeller Center as snow pelted us in the face. Unfortunately at this point, the snow was turning into sleet. After checking out the tree and the ice rink, we went on our way to catch the Rockette Christmas Spectacular at Radio City Hall.

IMAG1275

The Rockettes were fantastic, but I could have done without some of the other “filler” stuff in the show. I did not expect to need 3D glasses at the Rockette show, but then again, I have never been to see the Rockettes before!

Even though the weather was crazy, we had an amazing time. New York really is something at Christmas time. With that, I will leave you with this picture of me with gummy teeth.

IMAG1268

Have you ever taken a trip in wild weather?

signature

7 thoughts on “Celebrating the Holidays in NYC!

  1. OMG I’m so jealous!! Your trip looks amazing! I too have no self-control when it comes to gummy candies. My sister went to Dylan’s Candy Bar recently and brought me back a bag of delicious loot! I tried my best to eat it slowly, but it lasted about 3 days…

Leave a Reply

