Whole Wheat Waffles – Yum!

I am definitely a work in progress when it comes to cooking, but I think I am getting better. To speed me along, I took a great cooking class with my boyfriend last weekend at Sur La Table. It was one of my Christmas gifts from my boyfriend. I have been wanting to go for awhile, but they cost a pretty penny!

0104142012

In the class, we made an endive salad (not my favorite, actually most people in the class thought it was too bitter), roasted brussel sprouts with bacon, beef in a cabernet sauce with bleu cheese, and a butterscotch pudding. Everything but the salad was delicious. I even enjoyed the brussel sprouts. I learned a lot about making sauces and had never baked anything in a water bath before. It was a great experience. The class broke up into groups of four, and my boyfriend and I were paired with this really intense couple. They are known as regulars at the place and knew more about cooking that I will probably ever know in my life.

After the class, we were given a coupon to the store. We spotted a waffle iron on clearance and snatched it up. If you ever look at my recipes, you know that I am a big fan of whole wheat. So, why not make whole wheat waffles? (Note: They have a combination of white and whole wheat flour. Let’s not get too crazy here.)

Miss Adventures in Running

The recipe is modified from Aggie’s Kitchen.

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup all purpose flour
1/8 cup Stevia
1/8 cup sugar
3 TB baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups lowfat milk
3 eggs
2 TB butter
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp cinnamon

Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a bowl. Add milk, eggs, and butter to the dry ingredients and mix until combined. Pour  batter  into the waffle maker and cook according to waffle maker directions. Enjoy! 🙂

Miss Adventures in Running

What do you like to top your waffles with? Have you ever taken a cooking class?

signature

14 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Waffles – Yum!

  1. How fun I’ve always wanted to do a cooking class so I’m happy you were able to. Plus any girl that goes from cooking fancy food but still loves a simple waffle in A-ok in my book lol.

Leave a Reply

