First Time Trying Protein Powder

I’ve been curious for a very long time about protein powder. As my miles increase, I become more and more concerned about nutrition. I’ve done a little research on protein powder, and I wanted to make sure I was getting as natural as I possibly could. For my first ever venture into protein powder, I chose Vegan Smart Plant Based Protein.

Protein Samples - Miss Adventures in Running

I had a very nice combination of flavors to try – vanilla, chocolate, and chai. I was instantly drawn to the chai flavor. I am obsessed with chai tea. It is delicious. I knew I had to try this flavor first. After much thought, I decided I wanted to go with the classic protein shake.

Chai Protein Shake

Vanilla Chai Ingredients - Miss Adventures in Running

I combined half a cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk with one packet of chai protein powder and ten ice cubes. I must admit, it was delicious. The shake definitely has the taste that many artificial sweeteners have. This does not bother me at all. If you are sensitive to this taste, I would recommend adding a banana to your shake. The next day, I made a shake using one banana, half a cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk, ten ice cubes, and one packet of vanilla protein powder. That was perfect. It was spot on. I really liked what the banana added to the mix – just the right amount of sweetness.

Chocolate Protein Oatmeal

Protein Oatmeal - Miss Adventures in Running

For my next creation,  I made chocolate protein oatmeal. I am obsessed with oatmeal. This one really hit the spot.  I made one cup of oatmeal using water and stirred in half a packet of chocolate protein powder. Again, I noticed the sweetness was just not right for me. I drizzled some honey on top. That fixed this completely. I gobbled that breakfast up like it was nobody’s business.

Vanilla Protein Latte

vanilla protein latte

For an extra little kick one morning, I made a vanilla latte to start the day. I combined half a packet of the vanilla protein powder with 8 oz of coffee and a splash of unsweetened vanilla almond milk. I really enjoyed the combination of the vanilla with the coffee. I usually prefer my coffee black, but a latte hits the spot every once in awhile, especially one with extra vitamins and minerals!

Chocolate Protein “Ice-Cream”

Chocolate Banana Ice Cream - Miss Adventures in Running

For my final treat, I made a healthier version of ice cream. I cut one large banana into bite sized pieces and froze them overnight. The next day, I combined the banana, half a packet of chocolate protein powder, and a fourth a cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk in a food processor. Blend until smooth like ice cream. Enjoy!

Here is the breakdown of my opinion of the product:

Pros:

  • More natural than many protein powders
  • Delicious flavors
  • Gave me lasting energy and fullness throughout day
  • Loaded with vitamins and minerals

Cons:

  • The sweetness factor was a little off for me – can be fixed by adding ingredients

Overall, I enjoyed the fullness and energy the protein powder gave me. Like all things though, moderation is key. Still make sure to get plenty of whole foods, too!

What are your thoughts on protein powder? How do you like to enjoy your protein powder? 

signature

 

 

 

 

Disclaimer: This is a sponsored post from 4sponsor.com with my unbised thoughts. Naturade provided me with the free samples, but did not pay for my review. These opinions are my own and unbiased.

11 thoughts on “First Time Trying Protein Powder

  1. Based on the honey, I’m guessing you’re not vegan… Go with some dried meat. Make some pemmican. I try to stay away from synthetic, super processed stuff as much as I can…

  2. Bother I wrote a comment and then it disappeared! I’ll start again 🙂 I’m interested in protein powder because I’m always hungry a couple of hours after a meal. Thank you for the banana ice cream idea- I’ll give that a go 🙂

  3. I really like protein powder! I too prefer to stick to vegan protein powders. I think it’s a great way to get in the extra protein for active individuals. I think some people need to be careful of over-consuming protein though. Too much protein can be hard on your organs. Ooo I just thought of a blog post on that topic haha. Lol thanks!

  4. Great review! I love protein powder in my oatmeal too! I have been a long time consumer of various supplements including protein powders. A year ago I learned of, tried and was instantly hooked on the Isagenix brand for it’s blend of organic and natural nutrients. There are different flavours such as vanilla, chocolate, chai and the berry flavour which is dairy free. Most protein supplements have fillers, artificial sugars and other synthetic ingredients so I switched because I am health concious about what I put in my body. I do promote the product because it helped change my health and my body composition. If you want to take a closer look, see the link and thanks for letting me share 🙂
    http://isamovie.com/

Leave a Reply

