Upping the Mileage

Wearing Running Belt

Things are really starting to heat up in my training. I am moving past my previous personal distance record of 13 miles. I can barely believe it! These are some serious miles, which means that it is time to get serious about fueling. Up until now, I have eaten a couple of gummies or a gel and called it a day. I know that I need to incorporate more hydration into my training runs. Therefore…cue the running belt.

There were so many different models and designs to choose from. I was very overwhelmed. Then, the kind folks over at Gone For A Runย were generous enough to provide me one to review! Lucky me!

Running Belt

I decided it was best to test the belt on a medium length run, so I chose my ten mile run. It did take me awhile to figure out where I would like to place the belt. I have never run with this much gear on, so it was a definite adjustment. I found out that I like my belt best when it is positioned lower, near my hips. Once I found the right spot, the belt actually stayed put. It did not bounce around like I expected. The elastic holds pretty well.

Bottles with Gatorade

My go-to drink when running is watered down gatorade. The full strength gatorade is a little much for my stomach to handle during a run. I prefer to have it watered down to ease the blow. One thing I especially like about this belt is that it is an interchangeable system. The entire system includes two bottle holders, a larger pouch, a smaller pouch, and a race bib/gel holder. You can put as much or as little as you like on the belt at a time. Since I was running ten miles, I figured that I only needed one 6 oz. bottle. I also chose to keep the larger pouch. (By larger, I mean just big enough for a smartphone, not huge or anything)

Splits

I really think hydrating during the run made a big difference for me! You can definitely tell from my splits above when I fueled. I felt energized and really booked it on the next mile! I probably would have fueled earlier, but there just wasn’t a good place to stop. Which brings me to my next point…The only negative about the belt system was how snug the bottles were in their pouches. It was difficult to get the bottles in and out during the run. I am wondering if these will loosen up more with time. I am hoping so.

It will take more time for me to get used to wearing this much gear, but as my runs begin to venture past the half marathon distance, I am going to step up my fueling game. For others in the same boat, I would definitely recommend this belt system. The other ladies at my running club were very jealous. The key with this system is the interchangeable aspect. With different training runs, we all agreed that no single belt could meet all our needs. We need variety, and this belt system meets the bill! Here’s to many more long runs, with proper fueling!

How do you fuel during your extra long runs? What do you like in a fuel belt?

signature

Gone for a Run provided me with the running belt system for this review, but I was not compensated. This review is my unbiased opinion.

17 thoughts on “Upping the Mileage

  1. My fueling definitely needs some work. In the fall when I was out for 2+ hours I’d snag a wild apple and that would quench both thirst and give me a bit of energy (though it was short lasting sugar energy…). For drink I’m definitely on HoneyMaxx. It’s a powder so you can make it dilute as you want, and it’s made form organic all natural ingredients, none of this factory made stuff… I’ve tried belts before, but they always rode or chaffed. I use Orange Mud’s HydraQuiver. Nice little pack with lots of space. You should check them out.

  2. I used to wear a similar belt, but I didn’t like how the bottles bounced around. Sometimes use a handheld, but that can get annoying. (And when I ran with it a few weeks ago it actually froze!). I also have a camelbak backpack for really long runs, and I actually really like it. I barely notice that I am wearing it, and it holds 50oz of liquid. Awesome job increasing your mileage:)

  3. I have always used a camelbak filled with a Nuun tablet or two for super long runs. I’m a water guzzler, especially in the heat. I’ve been wanting to try out one of those belts but I’m too cheap and I don’t really like change. Maybe someday ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. This is awesome! I have a handheld water bottle that I’m loving so far, but the idea of a belt is nice because it won’t weigh down my hand! Thanks for the review, I’ll definitely check that company out.

  5. This is good to know, I’m hitting double digits now (this weekend is 10) and I’ve never had to fuel during a run before. Even when I do 8 or 9 I don’t usually drink too much water. I also usually only do loops so I pass my car and don’t haveta carry anything. I guess we’ll see how it goes!!

  6. I prefer my hand held bottle (it has a strap for your hand). I don’t think I would like something around my waist/hips. I usually put water in the bottle, but if it’s the summer and really hot I use Nuun ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

