The Day I Ran 14 Miles

14 mile garmin

On Sunday I ran 14 miles. Did you read that right?! I ran FOURTEEN miles. I have never run anything more than 13 miles before. It was an incredible experience. I ran the first 10 miles with a good friend. Then, I finished the last four miles on my own. I definitely appreciated having the company for the majority of the run. I was a little lonely after she left, but I still managed to finish! I even stayed around a 10 minute mile, which I was very happy with. There were a decent amount of hills along the way.

I did realize that I need to work on my fueling. I had a Clif shot, but I was not hydrated enough. I was planning on swinging by the running store to grab some water midway, but didn’t realize they weren’t open. I usually do my long runs on Saturday, so I did not realize they open later on Sundays. Oops!

beautiful day

The weather was beautiful. I wore capris and a very light weight shirt from Swirlgear. I probably could have worn shorts and short sleeves. It will take awhile to get used to warmer weather. I am so used to bundling up now! 

Are you looking forward to warmer weather?

signature

22 thoughts on “The Day I Ran 14 Miles

  1. I’m definitely looking forward to the warmer weather. I can’t wait to start running with a pack that doesn’t include extra layers of warm clothes. And not freezing at the end of a run waiting to get a bus back. Bring on the sunshine!

  2. AWESOME JOB!! Congrats on the new distance. 🙂

    I can’t wait to be able to run without my jacket on. It feels like it’ll take forever for Michigan to warm up! I’ve been experimenting with fuel for my long runs too. I’m going to try some Clif Shotbloks and watered down Gaterade this weekend.

  3. Congrats on your mileage PR!!! Doesn’t it feel AWESOME?! Running with friends definitely helps the time fly by! Being a FL girl, I can’t quite say I wish winter was over, haha… we’ve barely had any cold weather 😦 I can only imagine how everyone else is ready for some heat though!

  4. Woah so proud of you for 14!! I hear ya on going past barriers, 13 is my longest run ever as well but with marathon training I’ll soon pass that up, yikes!! I’m gonna use you as my inspiration to get it done!!

Leave a Reply

