Chocolate Chip Quinoa Cookies!

I am still experimenting with a gluten free diet to see what effect it has on my Crohn’s Disease. I am a work  in progress. It is hard to give up wheat completely! I’m getting there slowly. Rice seems to be taking over my diet and filling the void of wheat. Luckily, I found a recipe for quinoa cookies from Chocolate Covered Katie. If you have never been to her blog, you need to…NOW.

cookie in plate

The recipe calls for quinoa flour, which I just made my putting quinoa in a blender – very simple. I also used unsweetened vanilla almond milk for the milk.

cookies in oven

The first time, I just followed the recipe and added chocolate chips. The next time I added powdered peanut butter. The peanut butter really took it to the next level. These cookies were delicious. I can’t believe they only clock in at about 60-70 calories. I am officially hooked.

pre baked cookies

Adding sea salt on top really takes it to the next level. You can taste the quinoa slightly in the original version. With the peanut butter, you can barely taste it, if at all. I plan on making these many times in the future. Yum! For the recipe, click here.

What are your thoughts on quinoa?

signature

13 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Quinoa Cookies!

  1. Add me to the ‘love quinoa’ list! We are doing a Paleo diet for my wife as she is working with ENT doctor on her allergies, and gluten-free is part of it. These look pretty great!

Leave a Reply

