Love Run Half Marathon

0329141304I survived running 13.1 miles in a torrential downpour. It was intense. I am not going to lie. I do feel pretty hardcore for finishing, though. I have never run in that much rain in my entire life!

2014-03-30-17-35-51I didn’t quite get the time that I wanted. I really wanted to PR and break 2 hours. I pulled off 2:06. I was feeling really good at the start. I even tried holding myself back. Then the hill hit. Just by looking at my stats, I am sure you can tell where it was. Right as I was recovering from the hill, the TORRENTIAL downpour started. At first I was pretty disappointed, but then I thought…Hey! You ran the same time as your last half that was in perfect weather. My shoes were soaked and felt like rocks. Wind was whipping me in face. My clothes were stuck to my skin. I think it is pretty awesome that I pulled off the same time. I really need to stop comparing myself to others. I know I pushed myself the whole way, and I am proud of that.

0330141801I think my race bib is a pretty good image for how I felt after the race. I sort of wandered around disoriented for a bit because I couldn’t figure out where anything was at the finish festival. It was just a giant mud pit! I finally found the hot chocolate and realized where our team tent was. Once I got there though, my teammates seemed pretty worried about me. I don’t really do awesome in the cold. I was shivering and my teeth were chattering, but that happens to me a lot. Later they told me they rushed me to the hotel because my lips were blue and my face was all pale. I just thought they were being friendly!

0330141206aAfter the race, we went to a bar and celebrated our victory (surviving!) and our friend’s 49th birthday. It was a blast. (We changed clothes beforehand and dried off. No more hypothermia!)

1888673_585854114843888_854602287_n

Overall, CGI put on a great race. If there is better weather, I am definitely game for next year! We had an awesome team and a lot of fun despite the weather. (Side note: The guy in the orange hoodie crashed our tent and team photo. We don’t know him. He ended up WINNING the whole race. WHAT???!)

1044002_585854304843869_1973195195_nHonestly, to say we all survived and finished is a victory in itself. We are tougher than we realize!

0330141530Once I got home, I took the hottest shower possible and enjoyed some steaming coffee from my new race mug! Here is to the next half marathon in a month, as I continue to chase the sub 2 hour half marathon!

Have you ever ran in a torrential downpour? How do you keep from comparing yourself to others?

signature

 

19 thoughts on “Love Run Half Marathon

  1. Wow, you are a survivor!! Awesome job!! It’s not easy and I know because I ran my very first half in torrential downpour and yes, it was miserable and overwhelming, but I did it!! I’m proud of you!! You did an awesome job and should be very proud of yourself!

  2. Niiiice! That medal is huge! You’ll get that sub 2 hours, I know it!
    I ran one half in a horrible downpour – and it was near freezing. I could not wait for it to be over. I was shivering like crazy!

  3. Yay I was there too and I feel exactly the same way! If it would have been perfect weather I think it would have been a really awesome race. I am so proud of all of those volunteers for sticking around in that rain, what a crazy day for a race! Congrats on an awesome time and for surviving that weather (and the post-race mud pit!).

  4. WOOOO Congrats!!!! You rocked it! You did amazing especially considering the horrible weather! You shoudl be proud! That’s how my last half marathon was- less rain than you (I’m assuming), but it was very cold and very windy. Here’s to chasing the sub-2 hour and no rain!

  5. That time is fantastic especially considering the weather you were working with. I knew a few people doing Love Run and was thinking about you guys while we dealt with the same kind of weather down here in Baltimore. You’ve got that sub-2 no problem!

    A few months ago I was out on a training run in the rain (10 mile) and I couldn’t even see at one point. It was nuts.

Leave a Reply

