The Time I Tried Algae…ENERGYbits!

ImageI love trying new things. I think it makes life exciting. One of my favorite things about venturing into long distance running is all of the new experiences I get to have. Many of these experiences include food and proper fueling. With all of this training, it is extremely important that I fuel my body correctly.

Lately, I have been concerned with my energy level and fatigue when running. I have mentioned that due to my Crohn’s Disease, I am also anemic. Before I began this journey into long distance running, I did not notice the anemia much in my normal life. Lately, however, the anemia has been affecting my running.

ImageENERGYbits offered me a sample to try out and review. I am always up for trying anything. ENERGYbits are algae tablets. You take them as you would take a pill. I took the ENERGYbits one morning before a speed workout. I was doing a total of 8 miles, with 2 warm up and cool down, and 8 x 200 at 1:50. And…if that wasn’t enough…it was pouring rain. I saw one bolt of lightning and was worried it was going to be a full blown storm and I would have to head back, but luckily it was just the one!

Anyways…back to the ENERGYbits. I was able to the workout pretty much spot on give or take a few seconds, which I thought was impressive. I usually do my speed workouts at night because I just can’t get going like that right off the bat in the morning. The nice thing about the ENERGYbits is that they only take around 10-15 minutes to kick in. Just enough time to get ready in the morning.

ImageAnother nice thing about the product was how natural they are. It only has one ingredient..algae. I am really trying to reduce my sugar intake and many running gels, goos, and gummies are loaded with sugar. These are a much healthier alternative.

Here is my general opinion of the product:

PROS:

  • Healthy
  • Low calorie
  • No artificial flavors
  • Quick and easy to digest; No side effects
  • Energy burst at beginning

CONS:

  • Bad smell and taste (I had to hold my nose! It is definitely something you could easily ignore if you just swallow the tablets quickly.)
  • Expensive (A serving size is 30 algae tablets, and these little guys are not cheap!)
  • Energy doesn’t last as long as I would like. (Did not last as long as my daily cup of coffee. I went without coffee to see the true effect. You would need to refuel in the afternoon, which would contribute to the cost.I am not sure how long of a run one serving would fuel. It lasted for my seven miles.)

If you are looking for a healthier alternative to energy gels, goos, protein powders, etc. and are willing to invest the money, these would definitely work out great for you! They are easy to digest and do provide a decent amount of energy. Just be prepared to refuel throughout the day.

Now it is your turn to try! If you would like to give ENERGYbits a try, enter my giveaway below! Everything is worth a try!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Even if you don’t win, you can use the code RUNCHAT to order a bag of ENERGYbits with a 20% discount!

signature

 

 

 

ENERGYbits provided me with the free sample, but all reviews are my honest opinion. “ENERGYbits are only available at ENERGYbits.com, and Jonathan (their Community Manager) has shared with me that he’d be happy to connect anyone with a current ambassador to share a discount on a bag of bits, or more info on their sample program – you can email him at jlevitt@energybits.com

16 thoughts on “The Time I Tried Algae…ENERGYbits!

  1. I have heard so much about energy bits but have never tried them. Thanks for the review- they sound great but I’m not sure if they would fit into my budget. Usually I have coffee and a honey stinger waffle before my morning runs. If I have more time on the weekends and I’m doing a longer run, I’ll have a banana and bagel with peanut butter.

  2. Awesome write up! I swear by these. 🙂 I’ve used them a lot. The downside is definitely the fact that they smell like a fish tank, but I think they really do work.

Leave a Reply

