Nike Women’s Half Marathon in D.C.

0426141505a

Thank goodness I took a personal day today because I had a very eventful weekend! This weekend I went to D.C. to run the Nike Women’s Half Marathon. It was a blast and had a lot of great perks…although, they definitely cost a pretty penny. It is not a race I would run regularly because of the price tag, but it is worth it to splurge every once in awhile.

0426141459

Let’s start with the expo. It was along the waterfront in Georgetown, which was beautiful. I am not sure what they would have done if it rained…the “expotique” (that is really what it was called) was more of a village. You walked to the different stations.

0426141505

They had some cool displays that you could write messages to runners on or just sign your name. They also had a light up map of the course route.

0426141502

Outside of the Nike store in Georgetown they covered one wall of the building with all the runner’s names. It was not easy finding your name out of the thousands of runners, (it was a complicated alphabetical funnel design) but it was really exciting when you found yours. (That’s mine smack dab in the middle of the picture.)

0426141444a

The race shirt and bib were very nice looking. They made you wear a pace bracelet to get into the correct corral for the race. I was a little disappointed that you could not change your corral. I have gotten faster since I registered in November. The corrals had security checking the pace bracelet to prevent people sneaking in to other corrals, but some people managed to pull it off. Just not me. There was some dodging in the beginning, but eventually I got past them.

0426141950

Luckily, my sister and her fiance live just outside of D.C. I was able to stay with them, which was really nice. They followed me around the course and cheered with a sign! That was really motivating! The race had a cool app where they were actually able to track my predicted times of arrival at certain spectator spots.

photo 5

They even managed to get some great pictures of me on the course. Ones that don’t cost a million dollars like the ones the races sell.

photo 5(1)

The race course was beautiful. I liked running along the Potomac. Unfortunately the race got pretty crowded at certain points, and there were some bottleneck situations. I was a little bummed that I had to slow my pace down for those.
photo 4

Then comes the best part, when you finish, a man in a tuxedo gives you a Tiffany’s necklace! There was a mosaic pattern on the front and then the date and name of the race engraved on the back. It is just the right size and a nice reminder of all the hard work that went into training!

photo 2Here is a nice little close up shot! I really like it and cannot wait to show it off at work tomorrow! It came in the nice little official Tiffany’s box with the ribbon, of course!

0428141639a

Here is a picture with my sister after the race, rocking the new necklace. I definitely appreciated all the cheering and support. I think that is what helped me get a new half marathon PR! 2:02! I shaved three minutes off of my last half marathon! I am continuing to chase that sub 2 hour, but I am getting closer!

0427141014

Another perk of the race was the “Refresh Tent.” After I collected my food goodie back, I headed on in to the tent to foam roll and stretch. They even had coaches to help you out. I definitely feel a lot less sore today. Usually I end up stretching much later. 0427140946

Inside the tent, they also had wipes to help clean off your face from the sweat. It was warm enough to sweat, but nothing too unbearable. They had hair spray, lip gloss, and changing stations available too.

0427140943

All in all, it was a great race. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a unique race experience. You deserve to splurge every once in a while. Sometimes it even leads to a new PR!

What is your favorite race that you have done?

signature

12 thoughts on “Nike Women’s Half Marathon in D.C.

  1. Congrats on your new PR!! It sounds like it was a really fun race. I really wanted to run it, but it just didn’t work out this year. I love that they give you a necklace that you can actually wear rather than a medal. I made a deal with myself that if I hit my goal time this year I could buy myself something from Tiffany’s that I could wear to represent my accomplishment :).

  2. Yay, congrats! I had some friends from here in Dallas fly up for that race. They said it was fun! Looks like a cool evet!
    My fave race to date was the Flying Pirate Half Marathon in OBX, NC last spring. It was so laid back and fun!

  3. Thanks for posting the pic of your Tiffany’s necklace. I had a few friends who ran it, but I’ve been dying to see what they look like. I wish I was more into running because this sounds awesome.

Leave a Reply

