Broad Street Run!

0504140436I promise I am not trying to destroy myself. I am just really bad as using a calendar. When I registered for the Broad Street 10 miler, I did not put together that it was the weekend after my half marathon in D.C. Oops… I actually was planning on just going out easy and enjoying the experience. This is the largest 10 miler in the country. A little over 40,000 runners showed up. Everyone says it is “the race to do” in Philadelphia. Well, if you have to do it..who am I to disagree?

0504141127The problem is… the energy of the race overtook me. I started out going easy and steady, which actually set me up for a great race. I started to feel the energy of the crowd, and next thing you know…I was dropping down to 9:10/miles and below. I ended up averaging about a 9:20 mile, which is the same as my half marathon last week.

0504141414

Honestly, I am so glad that I got the chance to experience this iconic race. I had a great time with friends and really surprised myself. Now that I have been taking my iron supplements, I have been feeling pretty good. I promise that I will take some much needed rest time now. I already have a massage scheduled and a yoga class on my calendar.

0502141804a

While I loved the great atmosphere of the race – tons of people cheering on the streets, running around City Hall, and the bands performing…I did not love the HUGE crowds. 40,000 people is a lot. The race went well, but afterwards there were 40,000 people wandering around. It was chaos. They definitely need to work on their exit strategy.

All in all, the 10 mile distance is my favorite so far. It holds a special place in my heart as my first transition into distance running. I definitely will enter the lottery for Broad Street next year!

What is your favorite race distance?

signature

 

16 thoughts on “Broad Street Run!

  1. Yay, congrats!!! I also enjoy the 10 miler. I’ve only done one, but I liked it cause it’s double digits, but it doesn’t have that pesky .1 or .2 at the end!

  2. I’ve heard so many wonderful things about this race! Awesome job out there! I’ve never raced a 10 miler, but that is my usual long run when I’m not training for anything. I love that distance. 🙂 (I think my current favorite race distance is 15K, which is close!)

  3. Congratulations Amy!! You did an awesome job! Broad Street Run is definitely THE ultimate race in Philly. They actually added the lottery last year I believe to control the number of runners but they still had 40,000? Wow! Enjoy your recovery…you earned it!

    • Thanks for hosting the giveaway! I just moved to Philly a year ago. So far, I love how much there is to do here. There is the city, the beach, and then the old Jersey boroughs. There are tons of races, too! The only down side is the traffic.

Leave a Reply

