Give Me a Break!

Can you all believe that is is already June?! It was a busy Spring, full of lots of races and running. (Maybe too many races…) After all that hard work, I took a very needed rest. The woman in charge of the group I run with suggested I take 10 full days off from running. She said it is recommended that runners take one long rest a year. At first, I thought this was crazy, but I think she knows what she is talking about!

0508141638

During my ten day rest, I went on many walks and took some yoga classes. At first I felt really antsy, especially on days with good weather. I was also really nervous about how I would feel when I started back up. I was actually really surprised at how good I felt the first day back.

2014-05-16-11-38-56

I was also surprised at how fast I was able to go! (Granted I wasn’t going very far!) I have slowly been adding mileage over the past couple of weeks. I am still feeling really good, and my times seem much faster than before the break. I am expecting things to slow down the more miles I build back up to, but for now it is exciting!

2014-05-29-06-42-51Here is a great article I read about taking an annual “rest” from Runner’s World.

Do you build rest breaks into your yearly running calendar?

signature

17 thoughts on “Give Me a Break!

  1. As much as I love running, I do need a break every now and then. Especially after a busy racing period of time when I just need to switch gears for awhile. Glad to hear you survived and are feeling better then ever!

  2. Oh yes, rest is so important! I’ve also read about taking a week or two off. It not only helps you recover, but you start to go stir crazy and can’t wait to get back out there again! Refresher!

  3. Thank you for the link! I’m intrigued by this and wondering if my injury would count as my annual rest or if I get to take another one. šŸ™‚
    That’s so cool that you saw an improvement in your times!

  4. That’s such a good idea! I guess I accidentally took a rest 2 weeks when I moved, and I did not feel good when I started up again. I guess the point is to relax and be stress free before starting up again! When is your next race?

    • I was anxious at first to take a whole week off, but I think it worked!! I have a 5k at the school I teach at, but I planning on just running with the kids and other teachers for fun. I am looking at summer races now, but it is going to be so hot!!! Maybe I will have to join you in Alaska! šŸ™‚

  5. That is very interesting to know and I am happy that it has worked so good in you. I do practise Freeletics, and I also take “long” brakes from time to time in order to gove my body and my mind proper recuperation time. As regards to running, I have just begun to run! I am following a 8 week plan šŸ™‚ I hope I will be able to run my first 5km in a month and so. šŸ™‚

  6. I LOVE LOVE LOVE that you took a 10 day rest! I always say that I am going to take 2 weeks off, twice a year to let myself recover and reset, and I never follow through. Especially since all of the “experts” say it take 2 week to lose any fitness and even then it’s minimal! I look to you for inspiration haha!
    Honestly, Summer is the perfect time for me to do it as I am not a fan of hot & humid weather running!

Leave a Reply

