Just Think of It As a Cleanse

“Just think of it as a cleanse.” That is the advice of one of the lovely members of my running club for my upcoming colonoscopy. Since I have Crohn’s disease, I get a colonoscopy approximately every five years. It’s a real treat.  I suppose you could think of it as a nice little cleanse, something fancy celebrities pay a lot of money for. I like to think theirs is a bit more sophisticated than taking a ton of laxatives in a short period of time? I don’t know any fancy celebrities to ask, though.

IMG_20140724_092106

Doesn’t that look like fun?

I am hoping I didn’t make a bad choice by picking my favorite gatorade flavor for the MiraLax. I still can’t drink dark blue gatorade after my last colonoscopy…

I did manage to get a run in this morning. I was a little nervous about going outside since I took the Magnesium Citrate last night. I decided to go to the gym in case I needed to make a quick get-away to the bathroom. I managed to make it through 5 miles! I took it slow though since I don’t have much food in me for energy.

I bet you're jealous of my lunch.

I bet you’re jealous of my lunch.

You don’t realize how many commercials on TV are for food until you can’t eat. Literally, every other commercial! I can only eat Jello, clear broth, coffee, tea, apple juice, and hard candy. That Jello sort of sent me into sugar overload. I can only imagine how I will feel after the 64 oz of Gatorade…

I am already thinking about my first meal. Whatever it is, it is going to be big and delicious.

Have you ever had a colonoscopy?

signature

13 thoughts on “Just Think of It As a Cleanse

  1. I like your run club friend’s outlook on it. 🙂
    I hope everything goes well! You are total beastmode for getting that run in! I have not personally ever had one, but my mom just did recently and I got the lowdown from her. 🙂

  2. No I haven’t but my little sister did and then proceeded to tell me about her experience in detail….I feel for ya girl and hope your meal afterwards is big and delicious!!

  3. Your friend sounds very smart! Nice work with that. I’ve haven’t a colonoscopy yet but it’s always threatened when I see my gastro, at this point if it gave me a better answer than my current diagnosis, I’d be all for it. I hope yours went well!

  4. Oh man, I hope you’re able to eat food soon! When I had my appendix out I couldn’t eat for days and I swear all the commercials on TV were about food! It drove me nuts! For your first meal back you should totally have pizza 🙂

  5. Oh wow, I hope it is over quickly and you’re at the buffet asap! I haven’t had jello in a long long time….well unless you include jello shots, which I had a few weeks ago at the Buffett concert. 😉

Leave a Reply

