Be Kind to Yourself

Prepare yourself for an overload of motivational quotes in this post. It’s not for the faint of heart.

be kind to yourselfIt sounds like a lot of us fitness bloggers are having a tough time these days. We are too hard on ourselves. Sometimes our self discipline is what makes us great and helps us reach our amazing goals, but sometimes we beat ourselves up. I think we all need to be a little kinder to ourselves these days.

love body

Our bodies are capable of some pretty awesome things. As runners, we push our bodies to the limit to become better. We also have to remember that we only get this one body. It does a lot for us. We need to take care of it. This rang especially true for me this week. As most of you know, I had a colonoscopy last week. I had three polyps removed, one of which was considered large. I got the green light to go back to exercising the next day. I felt fine, so I went at it. Tuesday speed work came along. I was pushing it pretty hard, and then the WORST side cramp of my life hit. I had to stop the workout early. I really beat myself up about it. Then it hit me, I took THIRTY doses of laxatives within 24 hours for that colonoscopy. My insides were messed up. They say it can take up to two weeks to have normal bowel movements again. These were insane gas pains, not cramps from poor breathing.

comparisonI felt so awful because I couldn’t keep going like everyone else. That was ridiculous. Everyone else doesn’t have Crohn’s disease. They did not take 30 doses of laxatives. We are not the same. I cannot compare myself to them. I was not taking care of my body because I was acting like I didn’t have Crohn’s disease.  Ultimately, Crohn’s disease is what has led me to live a healthy lifestyle. Sometimes even forcing me. It is a big part of my life.

comparisonTR

 

It’s time we stop comparing ourselves to others. It’s also time to take care of ourselves. That could mean slowing down, taking time to rest, or to stop freaking out about paces. Take some time to be kind to yourself!

How could you be kinder to yourself?

signature

14 thoughts on “Be Kind to Yourself

  1. Very well said! Or written, as it were. At my group run last weekend, I noticed a handful of dudes wearing the group’s shirts and they were all walking their prescribed distance. I figured they were injured, but not sure. But after one of them posted on the group’s facebook page that ‘4 miles of walking is better than 4 miles spent on the couch’. So very true!

  2. Great post!!!! I love blogging but sometimes it leads me to compare myself to others. I feel like I’m a terrible runner if I don’t run as much/as fast as other bloggers. The pace thing is the worst! Thanks for the reminder that we’re all different runners and need to stop comparisons 🙂 And congrats for getting out there for a workout so soon after your colonoscopy!

  3. BIGGEST HUGS! You are so right and I’m so glad you wrote this post. I think you’re amazing. You aren’t backing down from anything despite having to go through that procedure right now and it’s just inspiring to me. 🙂

  4. This is a great reminder! We should never compare ourselves to others, because we are all different- with different goals and capabilities. I’m glad that you were able to recognize this! You have come SO far since you started running and you should be so proud of yourself!

  5. I’m EXACTLY the same way. My workouts are getting harder every day because I’m pregnant. The extra weight out front makes lunges and squats burn a lot more and a lot faster than before, and I sit there wondering why it hurts so much lol. I think a lot of fitness people are super Type A, and Type A people are really hard on themselves! But, it’s not always a curse because it means you often are successful in hitting goals!

Leave a Reply

