Airia Running Shoes

I think I might have mentioned that I love trying new things and free samples. It really is an obsession. So, when I was approached by Airia Running to try their running shoe, you know I was in.

0813141511The company is in Sweden and makes some pretty bold claims about their shoes. They say you are guaranteed to run faster. I am not sure if that is a claim a shoe company can really make… They also warn you that their shoes are very different from many. There is even a warning in the box. They recommend running at least a 10k before making your judgment.

0813141511a

This is part of the box the shoes came in.

The shoes are not the most visually appealing, but that isn’t really how one should judge a running shoe. The shoes are made of a very lightweight material and the toes curl up.

0818141031I noticed that the shoes had a larger toe box than my Mizunos. My toes had much more space, which I actually ended up enjoying quite a bit. The shoes seem to borrow some ideas from minimalist shoes without going too bare. The shoes also cause my foot to turn in a bit. According to the company website, these shoes cause you to run more naturally, more efficiently.

0813141510I am going to continue to wear these shoes occasionally. I have always been interested in more minimalist shoes, and free is just the right price for me. I will still use my Mizunos as my primary shoe. I will admit that I was more impressed than I expected. With the bold claims about running faster and the unique design, I was very skeptical. However, I felt really great when I was running in these. I was surprised how naturally my gait adapted. I only felt a little bit more work in one of my shins, just minorly. As to whether I will become faster as a result of these shoes, well the jury is out on that one. I don’t think there is one universal magic shoe that will make everyone faster.

What is the most unique item you have tried/reviewed?

signature

 

 

 

 

 

 

These shoes were provided by Airia Running, but all opinions are my own.

12 thoughts on “Airia Running Shoes

  1. Haha that IS a bold claim, but I am really intrigued by these. The toe curl kind of reminds me of my Pure Connects, but the toe box in those is WAY too small. I really need shoes with a wide toebox. I also love things that are minimal without being too minimal. Please let us know what you think after you wear them around a little more!

  2. Never heard of those shoes. A local running store does have reps in from different brands for us to try out on our social runs. To be honest, it’s rare that I wear a pair that I like compared to my normal shoes.

  3. Great review! I have Topoathletic shoes that are also minimalist and I wear them on occasion too! I love that the Airia have a wider toe box- I have tried on Mizunos and they are too narrow for me so I would definitely be interested in trying out these shoes!

Leave a Reply

