What I Think About for Four Hours in the Rain

great-gatsby-quotesToday was the last 22 miler of marathon training. It was was awful weather. Beyond awful really. Freezing cold, rainy, and extremely windy. The worst. I was out there for a total of 3 hours and 40 minutes. For the first hour and a half, we didn’t really encounter a single sole on the road. That’s when it dawned on me. There is probably a reason no one else is out. They aren’t crazy.

Why was I? 22 miles gives you a lot of reflection time. My mind wandered to my favorite book – The Great Gatsby – and the awesome quote above. We keep going out there, logging the miles in the pouring rain, to keep chasing the dream. As Fitzgerald said, “to run faster, stretch our arms father…” That’s why I signed up for the marathon, after all. After several half marathons, it was time to “stretch farther.”

1101140648And so, I ended up running 22 miles in a trash bag. What else do you wear in a downpour? Who pays money for jackets?! The strange part is, I’ve run so many times in the pouring rain this training cycle, that it really didn’t bother me a ton while I was out there. Then, I came home. Do you think it is possible for your soul to be tired? My body seemed to be functioning, but I got really weird and emotional. I guess you just go into survival mode out there in the storm. Then, you don’t really have anything left. And you cry for no reason and weird everyone out.

Thank goodness for the taper coming up. Otherwise, I might be barrel rolling to the finish line. (That might not work on the big hill on the course…)

1020141728

Maybe race day will be like this picture? If not, I don’t know if I can survive another training cycle. But really, you know I will be on to the next big thing before I know it.

Does your soul ever get tired?

signature

 

 

11 thoughts on “What I Think About for Four Hours in the Rain

  1. Great job surviving that run! It will only help you on race day to know that you ran in those conditions (that’s what I keep telling myself..) Sometimes I feel like I get overly emotional when all the stress of training and life piles up on me. I am SO ready for the taper!

  2. That sounds positively miserable but good for you for getting it done! I had that tired soul feeling at the end of my training cycle. Everything hurt. It was just so exhausting.

  3. Great job running 22 miles in the rain! I had a similar experience this past March while running in a half marathon…it unexpectedly poured the entire race. I completely understand what you mean when your soul gets tired. Except, that was only with 13.1 for me….hats off to you for what it sounds like consistently training in the rain. 🙂

Leave a Reply

