What a Difference a Year Makes!

IMG_20150214_082248This weekend was very exciting!! I ran in a little Valentine’s 5k Race called Cupid’s Chase. I was really anxious about this race. I have been training really hard this year and have seen a lot of growth. I didn’t quite realize how far I have come until this weekend.

0214150821a

Valentine’s Day was very cold and windy! With the windchill, the starting temperature was in the teens! I was also running along a river, so that made for some extra wind, which was lovely. (It was great that they put hand warmers in the race swag bag!)

Anyways, last year around this time I had a PR in the 5k. It was 27:53, and I was very happy with this. Well…at the Cupid’s Chase 5k my time was 22:40! That is an average pace of 7:13. That is more than a minute faster per mile!!! All those speed workouts really worked! Even with the wind!

DSC_0548

If the PR was not enough, I won first place female! I got an awesome trophy, 2 Vera Bradley bags, and a gift certificate to the local running store. I could really get used to this winning thing! It was such an amazing experience to have people congratulating me!

0214151305a

This was the perfect Valentine’s Day present. I think it really demonstrates the value of loving and taking care of yourself. Whenever I start to feel burnout or tired, I will look at this trophy. I have come a long way and can’t wait to see how far I can go next!

How was your Valentine’s Day?

signature

17 thoughts on “What a Difference a Year Makes!

  1. Congratulations on your win and a BIG improvement over the past year! It’s so cool you won Vera Bradley bags- I have won a few small local races but never gotten such a neat and useful prize like that. Love races for good causes as well.

    • It is all about the speedwork! I try to do speedwork most Tuesdays. Each training cycle, I start with hills, move to fartleks, and work up to tempo runs. Then, I reallyyyy have to make sure my easy runs are actually easy. That way I can really test my speed once a week! You don’t want tired legs!

Leave a Reply

